Milwaukee County Transit System

Archon

Do you have pictures? Ive been looking for pictures of the 3900 series Gillig spirits?

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

James Roach

Hello I am a Operator at MCTS for the last 18 years. So if Any info is needed about busses, past and present. I have lot's of info on them. I will be glad to answer you questions.

Hello I am a Operator at MCTS for the last 18 years. So if Any info is needed about busses, past and present. I have lot's of info on them. I will be glad to answer you questions.

Hello Milwaukee, Welcome Aboard!!

I have a question, What happened to the GMC RTS 3100s series buses? I saw but never got to ride them. I loved the sound of those diesel engines, they sounded very powerful. A few years ago I found one in Waukegan ,Ill. The marking were of course taken off but it had the MCTS paint scheme. Do you know if any of them stiil exist?

Welcome to the group!

The last time I was in Milwaukee may have been 2005. Here are some questions:

1) Does MCTS have any new buses on order (received any since 2005)?

2) If you have been to Chicago since the 1000 series New Flyers arrived, what are the functional differences between CTA's and MCTS' buses?

Gene King

I can field those last two questions.

1) No, there are no current buses on order. The last new buses were 9 New Flyers received in 2006 (5000-5008). The next order may not be until 2009-2010, when the 4000s are due to be replaced (the goal is to get 14 years out of those buses). Unfortunately, in the mean time, MCTS is struggling to even maintain funding for the existing system, and (similar to CTA) has used up far too much in the way of federal capital funding simply to maintain existing operations.