Impressed from a tourist

ednorton1

This train system in my opinion is a class act,This is my first time visiting Chicago. Although this train system is a lot smaller than the MTA in NYC, it seems much cleaner and more efficient! I was impressed how fast it was getting to O'hare airport. During my visit all the lines that I took, seemed to operate like a transit system should, although I was only in area for 4 days. The only problem I encountered was on a train leaving Midway airport. Seemed at low speeds, this car vibrated and made noise excessively ( maybe a bearing issue?), but all in all very impressed!!

This train system in my opinion is a class act,This is my first time visiting Chicago. Although this train system is a lot smaller than the MTA in NYC, it seems much cleaner and more efficient! I was impressed how fast it was getting to O'hare airport. During my visit all the lines that I took, seemed to operate like a transit system should, although I was only in area for 4 days. The only problem I encountered was on a train leaving Midway airport. Seemed at low speeds, this car vibrated and made noise excessively ( maybe a bearing issue?), but all in all very impressed!!

Since the O'Hare trip has gone up from about 25 minutes to 45*, and they are just doing minimal repairs to the line, the locals aren't impressed. Also, if you read the 5000s thread, they aren't too happy that the oldest cars are on the line, and of course about the accidents on that line.

_________

*Apparently some of the repairs did some good, as the scheduled rush hour time is 34 minutes. But some trips now don't go to O'Hare.

Seems like CTA put on its class act for you.

How reliable is the system? Maybe i just lucked out when i used it. It must be hard to keep an elevated system reliable with all the bad weather you have here. What is reason Blue Line has not recieved any new cars? The ones i were on were quite old.

That's the mystery of the past 3 years.

• Upvote 2