Who thinks nabis are Junk

pace2322

Who think nabis are junk?  

6 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes there are Junk
    • No there the best bus made

I'm up in Rogers Park, served by Pace #215 [which uses NABIs] and #290 [which does not]. I have ridden a NABI 40 footer and thought it was OK. I think the CTA's artics are too noisy over bumps (especially on the LSD portion of #147 southbound). I guess I'd like more choices on the poll. I don't think they're junk per se but I don't know if they're the best bus made either.

I don't know if they are any worse than any other bus. Not being a driver, I don't know about their repair history or "mean faults per million miles." While they seem to be prone to brake fires, Pace burned an Orion VI, too. People in NW don't think Orion VIs ride well, and Toronto took their CNG ones out of service after only 8 years (source: http://come.to/torontobus). CTA drivers keep finding ways to demolish Novas, which have too few seats, and accelerate too rapidly for standees' comfort. The Flyer D901s were rust buckets, and were also taken out of service prematurely in Toronto. At least CTA documented its complaints with the NABI articulateds.

You obviously seem obsessed; maybe you should correspond with someone in Los Angeles, where they have 1200-1400 of them.

Maybe the problem is generally that there are no more bus manufacturers, but bus assemblers, and Pace always takes pride in taking the low bid (the reason that the 6000s were not NABIs is that the Orion VIs were $10,000 per bus cheaper than the NABIs, according to the press release at the time, but apparently Pace was not willing to pony up for Orion VIIs when the VIs went out of production). Also, it might not be a coincidence that CTA and Pace were the last or almost last purchasers of bus models from several manufacturers (upon which they went bankrupt, left the market, or discontinued the model--twice in Orion's case).