CTA Mismanaged

Busjack

I was eventually going to start this thread based on the story on the home page, but since others gave me the opportunity, here goes:

They are playing political games with the citizens of chicago that deserve better transit than their getting. Shame on the CTA. I also noticed when Terry spoke, eyes began to roll, i guess there is bad blood out there for him big time. This meeting was like a thanksgiving fest gone all the way bad or as someone stated, a bad sunday church service

What you don't realize is that transit in Chicago is not run by transit professionals, but by politicians. Forrest Claypool was a Cook County Commissioner who twice tried to win Board Presidency and lost.

At least CurrentZ realizes what I have been saying for about 10 years. Certain consequences happen when Daley, and even more so, Emanuel disregard the statutory qualifications for members of the CTA Board and Executive Director, and appoint only political hacks.

As art points out, all Claypool proved to be was an unsuccessful foil to Stroger and Berrios. The Tribune loves him for that, but that doesn't prove much. And even Hilkevitch has wised up. Terry Peterson was one of Daley's convenient operatives who formerly was the face of the Chicago Housing Authority, the main thing that it achieved being tearing down the high rises and moving the gang problem to outlying residential areas.

I got sort of a laugh out of Kevin's posting on the home page:

A future article will discuss how Claypool intends to "right the financial ship" of the "mismanaged" transit agency.

I'll wait for what Kevin has to say, but especially with what Claypool has said up to now about blaming the deficit on work rules instead of the Quinn borrowing scheme, and saying that it is cured through smoke and mirrors (like CTA doesn't have to give a pay raise, forgetting that an arbitrator probably will award a retroactive one) shows that he has less of a clue than Dilbert's pointy headed boss.*