Starting Young

MY elementary school goes up to 8th grade, i'm in 8th grade. Yes, i've taken those bus routes, i'm not stupid and I have knowledge about CTA's routes.

In support here, I started into buses at the age of 3...yes 3. That was nothing more than looking out the window at buses travelling on Western Ave, and throwing temper tantrums when I could not ride. I used to go to school studying the route map. I probably knew more about CTA when I was 9 then most people would ever care to know...that was simply by writing letters to the information department and then waiting for the mailman to deliver me replies. I studied the route map on the way to school. I had an uncle who was a bus driver and on one special Friday took me through Archer, the old Kedzie and Keeler garages, plus a trip on the old Lake Dan Ryan L end to end. I had another uncle who would quiz me on routes by throwing numbers out of the blue and I would have to say the route and where it went.

As I got older, it was Sunday excursions using the old supertransfer. All I ever wanted to be was a bus driver, but the fear of landing on Madison Street at 1am was enough to deter me from going CTA way (Madison was a little bit more notorious in the 60's and 70's that it is today). However, I got my chance with Pace in Aurora after striking out twice with Nortran (to this day, I still don't know why)...which is where I spent time in between railroad gigs.